Highlands Biological Station buildings remain closed to visitors with the exception of limited visitor hours for the Nature Center.  HBS Botanical Garden trails remain open, and in accordance with University policy masks and physical distancing are required on the HBS campus.  Highlands Biological Station currently plans to offer academic and public programming in summer 2021, observing University mandated Covid-19 safety protocols.  For the safety of the HBS summer community, before being permitted to work or study at HBS prospective summer students, teaching faculty, and researchers must provide documentation of (1) having received a Covid-19 vaccine or (2) a negative Covid-19 test taken within 3 days of planned arrival.  Please see the HBS website for full summer 2021 Covid-19 safety policies and procedures, and bear in mind that University policy and HBS program plans are subject to change in light of developments with the pandemic this spring. 

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides oversight and guidance for HBS management and policy on behalf of Western Carolina University, working closely with the Executive and Associate Directors of the Station and the Office of the Provost at WCU.  From its inception, HBS was conceived as a shared, multi-stakeholder resource that serves the scientific and educational community broadly, welcoming faculty, students, and researchers from across the country and around the world.  This is reflected in the Station’s designation as a multi-campus center of WCU.  Accordingly, the HBS Board of Directors is structured to reflect key stakeholder groups within and outside of WCU and the University of North Carolina System.  Board members not serving in an ex officio capacity are elected for terms of 3 years, with a limit of 3 terms.  

 Current HBS Board of Directors

 

Dr. Paul Manos
Chair
Department of Biology
Duke University
pmanos@duke.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Jessica Allen
Department of Biology
Eastern Washington University
jallen73@ewu.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Christopher Mowry
Department of Biology
Berry College
cmowry@berry.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Brandon Schwab
Office of the Provost
Western Carolina University
beschwab@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

Mr. Jason Love (ex officio)
Highlands Biological Station
Western Carolina University
jlove@wcu.edu

Dr. James T. Costa
HBS Executive Director
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
costa@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Andy Ash
Department of Biology
UNC-Pembroke
andy.ash@uncp.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Howard Neufeld
Department of Biology
Appalachian State University
neufeldhs@appstate.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Susan Cohen (ex officio)
Institute for the Environment
UNC-Chapel Hill
susanac@email.unc.edu
Faculty Website

 

 

Dr. Patrick Abbot
Past-Chair
Department of Biological Sciences
Vanderbilt University
patrick.abbot@vanderbilt.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Tom Martin
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
tmartin@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Matthew Parrow
Department of Biological Sciences
UNC-Charlotte
mwparrow@uncc.edu
Faculty Website

Ms. Julia Grumbles (ex officio)
President
Highlands Biological Foundation, Inc.
juliagrumbles@gmail.com