Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides oversight and guidance for HBS management and policy on behalf of Western Carolina University, working closely with the Executive and Associate Directors of the Station and the Office of the Provost at WCU.  From its inception, HBS was conceived as a shared, multi-stakeholder resource that serves the scientific and educational community broadly, welcoming faculty, students, and researchers from across the country and around the world.  This is reflected in the Station’s designation as a multi-campus center of WCU.  Accordingly, the HBS Board of Directors is structured to reflect key stakeholder groups within and outside of WCU and the University of North Carolina System.  Board members not serving in an ex officio capacity are elected for terms of 3 years, with a limit of 3 terms.  

 Current HBS Board of Directors

 

Dr. Paul Manos
Chair
Department of Biology
Duke University
pmanos@duke.edu
Faculty Website

 

Mr. Jason Love (ex officio)
Highlands Biological Station
Western Carolina University
jlove@wcu.edu

 

Dr. Brandon Schwab
Office of the Provost
Western Carolina University
beschwab@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Kristin Cecala
Department of Biological Sciences
University of the South
kkcecala@sewanee.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. James T. Costa
HBS Executive Director
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
costa@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Rada Petric (ex officio)
UNC-IE Highlands Field Site Director
rpetric@unc.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Jessica Allen
Department of Biology
Eastern Washington University
jallen73@ewu.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Tom Martin
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
tmartin@email.wcu.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Howard Neufeld
Department of Biology
Appalachian State University
neufeldhs@appstate.edu
Faculty Website

Dr. Patrick Abbot
Past-Chair
Department of Biological Sciences
Vanderbilt University
patrick.abbot@vanderbilt.edu
Faculty Website

 

Mrs. Jennie Stowers (ex officio)
President
Highlands Biological Foundation, Inc.
president@highlandsbiological.org

 

Dr. Andy Ash
Department of Biology
UNC-Pembroke
andy.ash@uncp.edu
Faculty Website

 

Dr. Christopher Mowry
Department of Biology
Berry College
cmowry@berry.edu
Faculty Website