Annual Member Meeting Minutes 2022

June 25, 2022 at 2 PM at the Highlands Biological Station's North Campus

In attendance: Ken Hodges, Charlotte Muir, Bill Reeves, Jennie Stowers, Monte Gaillard, Paige Engelbrektsson, Melanie Mauldin, Karen Patterson, John Mitchener, Alex Smith, Tom Mauldin, Lisa Armstrong, Linda Barlow, Sarah Morgan Wingfield, Marianne Jenkins, Julia Grumbles, Tricia Allen, Dr. Dan Pittillo, Amy Patterson

Called to order: Jennie Stowers at 2:02pm

Stowers made a motion to approve minutes 2021 Meeting. Linda Barlow seconded; motion approved.

President's report: Stowers thanked Linda Barlow for her terms on the board noting all of her incredible contributions to HBF, especially in the garden and at Nature Center.

Executive Director: Charlotte Muir gave a presentation featuring all the activities of HBF in 2021. Paige Engelbrektsson also spoke on the successful Student Sustainability Summit.

Finance Report: Treasurer Amy Patterson noted that HBF fiscal year has been changed to calendar year. HBF received its audit with a clean report for the short 6-month year. She noted that the PPP liability has been forgiven and that program expenses account for 75% of total funds.

Education Report – Paige Engelbrektsson highlighted HBF programs in 2021 included reopening the nature center and welcoming 13,000 people back to HBS. Night programs returned with great popularity and camps reopened. The HBF book club is very popular, now in it's 4th season. New partners for outreach include: HCCDC, TLLC, Mountain Retreat and Learning Center, Cashiers Designer Showhouse, Cashiers Historical Society, Bascom, and Boys and Girls Club. HBF also participates in programs across the state, like the NC Arboretum Eco-Explore Site.

Karen Patterson, Education Committee Chair, noted that HBF has been hosting lectures and providing education to Highlands since 1928 with donors making it all possible.

Nominating report – Julia Grumbles

Motion from Nominating Committee to elect for second term: Cathy Jones, Melanie Mauldin, Frances Oakley, and Vernon Skiles

Second from Karen Patterson, motion passed.

Motion from Nominating Committee to elect to first term: Jonnie Swann, Drew Lanham, Tom Holmes, Martha Stibbs

Second from Monte Gaillard, motion passed.

Old Business – North Campus still being completed.

New business – Melanie Mauldin gave a gift shop update and featured new merchandise.

Meeting adjourned at 3:04 pm.